Making Democracy Work

State Council - LWVIN


Kudos to the LWV of Greencastle for hosting the LWVIN Council on April 9, 2016 at the Prindle Institute at DePauw University! A beautiful location for a hard working League. The work included the business of budget approval and elections for the 2016-17 FY but the focus of the day rested on Grassroots Advocacy. Lisa Maechal from RESULTS, a nonprofit grassroots citizens' lobby that identifies sustainable solutions to the problems of hunger and poverty as a human rights issue, offered an interactive session on practical skill building for League advocacy. She was well received and offered many practical suggestions for working with the Indiana legislators. Kate Cruikshank of LWV Bloomington/Monroe provided a tutorial on navigating the Indiana General Assembly website.

It was great to renew friendships and make new ones with like minded League members from across the state. LWVGL members in attendance included Patsy Hoyer, Nancy Clement, Corrina Than, Karen Griggs and Joanne Evers. Thanks to the organizers and to the LWVIN State Board.

Prindle Institute, DePauw University

Getting ready to work for the day

Karen Martaglio, President LWV Greencastle

LWVGL members (l to r) Joanne Evers, Karen Griggs, Corrina Than, Patsy Hoyer and Nancy Clement

Lisa Marchal, Speaker on grassroots advocacy